An apple tree

Standard

My grandmother’s apple tree survived her.I remember its sour taste,the dark green fruit
Fallen to ground
Hidden in the lighter grass.
I used to pick them up
Baskets laden.Heavy.
All my childhood.
I wondered how it still lived,
weak,and sick and unwanted.
Almost nine years after her death,
The house has fallen into disrepair
Looks smaller than ever
Or I’ve grown too much.
The apple tree still stands.
Arches above it.Agelessly.
Defying time.
Against all odds.
Despite us all.

image

2 responses »

  1. Great memories of the tree and its fruit. When I was a kid, there were still “Johnny Appleseed” apple trees around – they would have been about 150 years old at the time.

Leave a Reply

